Andebit et beaqui corendit, ut quostes esciendion re dit ad et prae parion es quia quas alibus sam, omnim faciden ducipidiat arum autem nobis enis es voat
Detour to the Iron Center Museum
The site is wheelchair accessible, has a restroom, and plenty of parking.
Donations are accepted.
DON’T MISS THIS WHEN VISITING
Videos are available for on-site viewing and numerous exhibits include “Getting the Ore Out,” which features mining practices, people, and products.
The museum also includes a Railroad and Mining Heritage Park that encompasses a number of historic structures once part of the Witherbee-Sherman Mining Company waterfront complex. The Iron Center building was originally a carriage house, ice house, and laboratory for testing iron ore. The remains of a steel trestle, built in 1929 and used for loading ore, can be seen along the waterfront. Outdoor displays include an original locomotive, ore car, and caboose.
The Iron Center is housed in the Witherbee, Sherman & Co. Carriage House–a building that has been recently restored and is listed on the National Register of Historic Buildings. The grounds overlook Lake Champlain and the site of Witherbee, Sherman & Co.’s former shipping and refining operations.
The museum documents the operations of the local iron-ore mining industry from the 1820s to 1971, its impact on worker’s lives, and the preparation, processing, and transport of iron ore on Lake Champlain. Inside, visitors can explore an interactive model with murals of the Mineville and Witherbee mining districts and learn about mining techniques and the connections between mining and railroads.
IDENTIFY AND DESCRIBE THE MANAGEMENT ORGANIZATION
The museum is staffed by Moriah Historical Society and RSVP volunteers.
RELATED SITES OR EXPERIENCES
Brochures provide a walking tour of Port Henry
SUGGESTED FURTHER READING
Website under development.
SEASON AND HOURS OPEN
Call for an appointment